I read a most interesting post by Howard Jang, Executive Director of the Arts Club Theatre in Vancouver, BC, Canada. www.artsclub.com/

Here is the link: http://blog.artsclub.com/2011/02/23/the-argument-of-supply-and-demand/

And here is my reflection on this interesting post:

Howard,

Thank you so very much for raising this topic. I appreciate your thoughtful point of view.

I want to address the supply/demand issue in terms of an “aging but young at heart” audience, who have, (to me), expressed a concern about “ACCESS”, from their point of view.

Case in point my, 84 year old Aunt, (a long time Arts Club subscriber), who added her young great niece to the subscribership at the Arts Club.

My Aunt’s point of view:

– “I and my circle of friends are active, mobile, and interested in the arts in Vancouver.”

– “I however cannot go out, comfortably at night.”

– “I will very much appreciate access to more theatre during the daytime – morning/afternoon matinees one weekdays and perhaps a pre/post encounter at the restaurant facilities at the theatre and, if possible, all in one package.”

Not an unreasonable request considering that the supply of older/retired, (or not), senior citizens with a disposable income, (not limitless), and a population that is growing by leaps and bounds.

Quite clearly, (and on more than one occasion), my Aunt has expressed to me that she, and her friends, (many UBC Emeriti), feel, well just plain left out or forgotten about.

With all of our current emphasis on developing, cajoling young people as our new/future audiences I believe we are missing an important side of “supply/demand”.

What is the saying: “don’t count your chickens before they’ve hatched” speaking to the supply side.

Well there are a lot of “older chickens” out there who have hatched and are a potential lucrative supply to meet a demand – the need to fill our theatres @100%.

Some food for thought!

I will be happy to discuss this further!

Cheers!

Susan Weiss

